MCO 3.0 U-Turn : Now Golf Is Banned Again!

Spread the love

Yet another MCO 3.0 U turn – within 24 hours, golf was allowed and then banned again!

Find out what is the latest U-turn in MCO restrictions by the Malaysian government!


MCO 3.0 U-Turn : Now Golf Is Banned Again!

On 6 May 2021, the Ministry of Youth and Sports announced that all sports and recreational activities are FORBIDDEN in MCO areas, without their expressed permission.

This rule was to kick off today – 7 May 2021, but after being roundly criticised for decision, they walked back their decision halfway.

At 9:15 PM on 7 May 2021, the Ministry of Youth and Sports announced that the Malaysia National Security Council (MKN) agreed to loosen the earlier restrictions on sports and exercise in MCO 3.0 areas.

While their statement did not explicitly mention golf, the Malaysian Golf Association confirmed with the Ministry of Youth and Sports (KBS) that golfing activities are permitted to resume on 8 May 2021.

However, on 8 May 2021, the same Ministry of Youth and Sports directed that golfing activities in all MCO districts be suspended from 9 May 2021 until further notice.

Even though players are not allowed on the green, routine golf maintenance activities may be undertaken, provided that at any one time, no more than 30% of the total course and maintenance staff are present.

MCO 3.0 U-Turn : Now Golf Is Banned Again!


MCO 3.0 : What Areas Does The Golf Ban Apply?

The newly-reinstated golf ban applies to ALL areas under MCO restrictions :

Selangor6 May 2021 until 17 May 2021

  • Hulu Langat : Hulu Langat, Ampang, Cheras, Hulu Semenyih, Kajang, Semenyih, Beranang
  • Petaling
    – Bukit Raja
    – Sungai Buloh : Subang, Bandar Damansara, Sungai Buloh, Bandar Sri Damansara, Merbau Sempak
    – Damansara : Subang Jaya, Pekan Hicom, Bandar Sunway, Bandar Petaling Jaya, Kayu Ara, Bandar Glenmarie, Bandar Saujana, Shah Alam, Batu Tiga, Country Height
    – Petaling : Puchong, Kinrara, Sungai Besi, Serdang
  • Gombak : Batu, Rawang, Setapak, Ulu Kelang
  • Klang : Klang, Kapar
  • Kuala Langat : Bandar, Batu, Jugra, Kelanang, Morib, Tanjung 12, Teluk Panglima Garang
  • Sepang : Sepang town, Dengkil, Labu

Kuala Lumpur7 May 2021 until 20 May 2021

  • All areas

Johor7 May 2021 until 20 May 2021

  • Johor Bahru : Jelutong, Plentong, Pulai, Sungai Tiram, Tanjung Kupang, Tebrau, Bandar Johor Bahru
  • Kulai : Bukit Batu, Kulai Town, Sedenak, Senai
  • Kota Tinggi : Johor Lama, Kambau, Kota Tinggi Town, Pantai Timur, Pengerang, Sedili Besar, Sedili Kechil, Tanjung Surat, Ulu Sungai Johor, Ulu Sungai Sedili Besar

Perak7 May 2021 until 20 May 2021

  • Taiping
  • Larut, Matang and Selama : Batu Kurau, Bukit Gantang, Matang, Sungai Tinggi, Trong

Terengganu7 May 2021 until 20 May 2021

  • Besut district : Kampung Raja, Lubuk Kawah, Pelagat, Tenang, Keluang, Bukit Kenak, Kubang Bemban, Jabi, Kerandang, Pengkalan Nangka, Pasir Akar, Tembila, Bukit Puteri, Kuala Besut

Penang10 May 2021 until 23 May 2021

  • North East Penang Island : George Town, Paya Terubong, Bukit Paya Terubong, Bukit Ayer Itam, Ayer Itam, Batu Feringghi, Tanjung Tokong
  • Central Prai : Seberang Jaya, Sama Gagah, Permatang Pasir, Permatang Pauh, Kubang Semang, Taman Paus,  Bandar Perda, Tanah Liat, Berapit, Jalan Betek, Bukit Tengah
  • South Prai : Sungai Jawi, Nibong Tebal, Batu Kawan, Bukit Tambun, Simpang Ampat, Sungai Bakap, Valdor
  • South West Penang Island : 12th Mukim only
  • Prai North : Butterworth Town + 14th Mukim only

Pahang : 10 May 2021 until 23 May 2021

  • Entire district of Kuantan

Perak : 10 May 2021 until 23 May 2021

  • Hulu Perak : Pengkalan Hulu and Belukar Sepang only
  • Hulu Kinta : Ipoh, Lahat, Chemor and Tanjung Rambutan only


Recommended Reading

Go Back To > Health | BusinessTech ARP


Support Tech ARP!

If you like our work, you can help support us by visiting our sponsors, participating in the Tech ARP Forums, or even donating to our fund. Any help you can render is greatly appreciated!

About The Author

Leave a Reply