Samsung Cloud Termination : What You Need To Know!

Spread the love

The end is almost here – Samsung Cloud will soon be gone, replaced by Microsoft OneDrive!

Here is what you need to know about Samsung Cloud’s shutdown process, and what you need to do.


Samsung Cloud Termination : What You Need To Know!

It is official. Samsung Cloud will be replaced by Microsoft OneDrive, and it starts with the termination of its Gallery Sync and Drive services.

Samsung Cloud users have all been notified about this move, and if you haven’t seen the notice yet, check your email spam folder.

Samsung Cloud Will Soon Be Replaced By MS OneDrive!

Shutdown Process Group 1 Group 2
– Gallery Sync + Drive stops working
– OneDrive migration available
– Data download available
5 October 2020 onwards 1 December 2020 onwards
– Gallery Sync and Drive no longer available
– OneDrive migration no longer available
– Premium storage subscription terminated
1 April – 29 June 2021 1 June – 30 August 2021
– Data download no longer available 30 June 2021 31 August 2021

Phase 1 : Limited Service

Depending on where you live, you will have until March 2021 (Group 1) or May 2021 (Group 2) to migrate your data to Microsoft OneDrive.

You can choose to download your data, or migrate to OneDrive.

  • If you choose to download your data, it will be completely deleted from Samsung Cloud 90 days after that.
  • If you select to migrate to OneDrive, your data stored in Samsung Cloud will be transferred to OneDrive, and deleted.

Phase 2 : Service Discontinued

From 1 April 2021 (Group 1) or 1 June 2021 (Group 2) onwards, Gallery Sync and Drive services will be disabled, and premium subscriptions automatically cancelled.

The OneDrive migration option will no longer be available, but you will still be allowed to download your data.

Phase 3 : Data Deleted

Samsung will give you until 29 June 2021 (Group 1) or 30 August 2021 (Group 2) to download your data, after which everything is deleted.


Samsung Cloud to Microsoft OneDrive Migration

You will receive a OneDrive integration notification in Gallery, My Files or the Samsung Cloud app, and opt to begin the process.

Alternatively, you can choose to begin the migration process through these apps :

  • Samsung Cloud app : More > Settings > Link with OneDrive
  • Gallery app : More > Settings > Cloud Sync or Switch to OneDrive
  • My Files app : More > Settings > Make the Switch to OneDrive

Once you start the process, follow these instructions :

  1. Tap Move to OneDrive
  2. Check “I agree to Samsung Cloud Service Changes”
  3. Tap Connect
  4. Tap Connect accounts and sign into your Microsoft OneDrive account
  5. Let the data sync finish and then tap Done

Samsung Cloud to Microsoft OneDrive migration


Download Data From Samsung Cloud

You can download your Samsung Cloud data through the Download my data menu :

  • Samsung Cloud app : Download my data
  • Gallery : More > Settings > Download content from cloud

Once you start the process, you will have 90 days before the data is deleted completely in Samsung Cloud :

  1. Tap Download my data
  2. Select the data you want to download
  3. Tap Download
  4. Let the download process complete

Samsung Cloud download data

You can check the download process in the notification bar. But note that if you choose to cancel, it will cancel the entire download process, and you will have to start afresh.


Samsung Cloud Termination Process : Country Grouping

This is done automatically, based on your Samsung account information.

Group 1 : Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Group 2 : Afghanistan, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Christmas Island, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Fiji, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Isle of Man, Israel, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macao, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Territory, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Reunion, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, U.S. Virgin Islands, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe


Recommended Reading

Go Back To > Mobile Devices + Wearables | Home


Support Tech ARP!

If you like our work, you can help support us by visiting our sponsors, participating in the Tech ARP Forums, or even donating to our fund. Any help you can render is greatly appreciated!

About The Author

Leave a Reply