The Samsung Galaxy Note9 Live Translation Guide

The Samsung Galaxy Note9 Live Translation Guide

One of the least talked-about features of the Samsung Galaxy Note9 is its augmented reality Live Translation capability. It is a very useful feature, actually the most useful Bixby feature in our opinion.

So we created this guide to show you how use it to quickly translate foreign languages during your travels or in the kitchen!

What Is Samsung Live Translation?

Live Translation is a key feature of Bixby Vision in flagship Samsung smartphones like the Samsung Galaxy Note9. It identifies and translates 54 languages, and overlays the translated text over the original text.

The first-generation Samsung Bixby Vision was already capable of live translation, so a more accurate description of this new feature is AR (augmented reality) Translation.

In the original Bixby, the translation appears as a separate card. But in the Samsung Galaxy Note9, the translation appears as part of the image. Hence, our opinion that it should have been called AR Translation.

Samsung Live Translation In Action!

In this video, we tested Live Translation on the Samsung Galaxy Note9 smartphone.

And here is Live Translation in action on the Samsung Galaxy S9!

How To Use Live Translation

Please note that before using Live Translation, you need to first create and log into your Samsung Account. You also need to have Internet connectivity.

Step 1 : Launch the Samsung Camera app

Step 2 : If the Camera app is not in Auto mode, switch to the Auto mode.

Step 3 : Tap on the Bixby Vision icon on the lower left corner of the screen

Step 4 : Point the camera at the text you want to translate.

Step 5 : Live Translation will automatically convert the text to your preferred language.

Step 6 : You can also tap on the Text icon to select a specific area to translate.

Note : The default automatic language detection only works for 33 languages. The remaining 21 languages require manual selection to work.

Languages Supported By Live Translation

Live Translation will visually recognise the following 54 languages

Afrikaans, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Belarusian, Bengali, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Korean, Kyrgyz, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Marathi, Mongolian, Nepali, Norwegian, Pashtu, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, Vietnamese.

Recommended Reading

[adrotate group=”2″]

Go Back To > Mobile Devices | Home

Support Tech ARP!

If you like our work, you can help support our work by visiting our sponsors, participating in the Tech ARP Forums, or even donating to our fund. Any help you can render is greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply